top of page

Activity 2: Acts of Kindness!!

This week I chose “practicing acts of kindness.” I’m a big believer in kind people. Not everybody can be smart or funny (naturally, at least), but everybody has the potential to be kind. There’s no excuse not to be. I really like this tweet from Ellen Page.

How does kindness lead to personal happiness?

  • You perceive others more positively.

  • You perceive yourself more positively (as someone compassionate).

  • You are perceived more positively by others.

  • You feel more connected to your community.

  • You are more appreciative of your life.

How to practice acts of kindness:

  • “Pick one day a week, and on that day, commit one new and special large act of kindness or, alternatively, three to five little ones.”

  • It should pull you out of your routine, rather than something you already regularly do.

  • If you get used to it, add another act of kindness to your schedule!

  • You shouldn’t behave self-righteously or feel forced to do the act.

(This is all from the How of Happiness.)

My Act of Kindness: Letters to Sisters Studying Abroad

I never got to study abroad, but I stayed in contact with my friends who did and I think one thing I never expected is that some of them…were unhappy (especially at the beginning). I still believe studying abroad is such a wonderful opportunity, but at least in my experience, a lot of my friends weren’t prepared for the homesickness or adjustment period because so much of the narrative about studying abroad is 100% “IT’S GREAT GO DO IT” which, yes, I believe everyone should if they get the chance, but I also think some love from home wouldn’t hurt.

SOOOOO I decided that I’m going to send letters to all the girls in my sorority who are studying abroad. I’m going to get the cards ready and leave them at my sorority’s Galentine’s Day party tomorrow night for everybody to sign before I mail them off.

Here is me announcing the plan to my pledge class:

I hope my comments in ALL CAPS effectively capture how excited I am!!!! Will post pictures of the cards once they’re signed. :)

Until then, enjoy these pictures of friends visiting places I hope to travel to someday.


 RECENT POSTS: 
bottom of page